As the story begins, an occultist attempting to capture Death to bargain for eternal life traps her younger brother Dream instead. After his 70-year imprisonment and eventual escape, Dream, also known as Morpheus, goes on a quest for his lost objects of power. On his arduous journey, Morpheus encounters Lucifer, John Constantine, and an all-powerful madman. Book One collects The Sandman #1-20.

Written By:

Neil Gaiman


Sam Kieth Michael Zulli Chris Bachalo Mike Dringenberg


Sam Kieth Malcolm Jones III Steve Parkhouse Charles Vess Mike Dringenberg

Cover By:

Dave McKean